Tennessee’s Woke(ish) Netflix Password Law

Andrea Coleman
3 min readMay 16, 2019
Photo by freestocks.org on Unsplash

In Tennessee, it is illegal to share your Netflix password with someone else. If you don’t pay for Netflix, then you can’t watch it in the Volunteer State.

Come again? Really?

Yup, it’s the truth.

In 2011, Tennessee amended its definition of the word “services” under their criminal statute to include “entertainment subscription service.” Netflix is an entertainment subscription service which means that anyone who “intentionally obtains” Netflix in such a way that they “avoid payment “ for it, is guilty of a crime under Section 39–14 -104 of the Tennessee Criminal Code.

Yikes! Netflix and chill can be a crime?! Volunteer State? More like, why don’t you get it yourself State. As in: go get your own Netflix password. Get it? Get it?You get it.

I have to tell you Fandreas (Fans of Andrea), this law has been my most difficult law to rule on to date. You see, I love laws and I love rules. I just absolutely stinkin’ love them. I love a hard line. If you regularly read my Wack/Woke articles, then you know this already. I do not like it when people break the law. I don’t like when people steal or cheat or ‘get over,’ heck, I don’t even like it when people cut in line. No matter what line it is, people shouldn’t cut. Not the lunch line, not the bread line, not Madonna’s…

--

--

Andrea Coleman

Reiki Master, Lawyer & Comic with over 815K views: I love rules, writing & laughing. https://linktr.ee/AndreaColemanComedy