Reiki Training Day 1 — Diary Of A Reluctant Reiki Master

Andrea’s journey to becoming a Certified Reiki Master.

Andrea Coleman
5 min readDec 5, 2022
Photo by Anete Lusina

I completed Level 1 Reiki training on Saturday and it was a trip. My family uses the word “trip” as an adjective to mean, an experience or person who is wild, crazy or funny. Like, “Girl you a trip!” Similar to an acid trip where you don’t go anywhere physically but your mind or the person takes you on a journey where it feels like you really traveled. That’s how I mean the word, Level 1 Reiki was a trip.

I took the training virtually so I was in the comfort of my apartment. It was a small class, there were only 10 of us and interestingly, many of the students had ties to my old home state of Virginia which I really appreciated. The first couple hours we learned the history of Reiki.

I really like my teacher Mariia. She felt earnest, sweet and vulnerable but also youthful and bubbly. I didn’t want a hippy dippy in the cosmos teacher or someone too heavy and serious. She shared that she’d begun suffering with health issues in 2016 and that lead her to Reiki. 2016 is when my health issues began too. I appreciated the synchronicity.

Later in Day 1 was when “the trip” started. To become a practitioner of Reiki one is given an attunement. I’m no expert but in laymen’s terms, as I…

--

--

Andrea Coleman

Reiki Master, Lawyer & Comic with over 815K views: I love rules, writing & laughing. https://linktr.ee/AndreaColemanComedy